Quote

The Art of Being Born by Marcia Aldrich

I’ve been reading through The Best American Essays of 2013 for the last couple of weeks.  Yesterday, on the train, I read Marcia Aldrich’s essay The Art of Being Born” this is a beautifully written piece about “the” initiation into motherhood and childbirth.

“I thought I was the wounded party.  It never occurred to me that perhaps I wasn’t the only one who had been deprived of a birth story, or a story one would want to share.  It never occurred to me that there were no baby pictures because my mother was denied access to me in the first weeks.”

Leave a Reply

